EUROPEAN INTELLECTUAL HISTORY: a guide to resources in Memorial Library
Intellectual history has much in common with political theory, philosophy,
religion, and other subjects which deal with ideas. When you are looking
for library materials, if you take advantage of these connections you
will find a web of reference materials, journals, and databases that will
help you go further with your study of intellectual history.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries / Important
Journals / Journal Databases / Madcat
Tips / Going Further / Guides to Reference
Resources / Browsing Areas
BASIC RESOURCES
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES:
These are especially useful for providing an overview of a subject, as
well as for identifying themes, terms, names, etc. Often they include
a list of important basic books as well.
GENERAL
Dictionary of the history of ideas; studies of selected pivotal ideas.
5 vols. Memorial Library Reference Wall Cases / Call Number: CB5 D52
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. 19 vols. Memorial
Library Reference Wall Cases and Reference Desk / Call Number: H 40 A2
I5
PHILOSOPHY
The Encyclopedia of philosophy. 8 vols. Memorial Library Reference
Desk / Call Number: B41 E5
Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. 1998. 10 vols. Memorial
Library Reference Wall Cases / Call Number: B51 R68 1998 . Also on CD-ROM
in Memorial Library Reference CD-ROM area.
The Oxford companion to philosophy. Memorial Library Reference
Stacks / Call Number: B51 O94 1995.
RELIGION
Encyclopedia of religion. 16 vols. Memorial Library Reference
Wall Cases / Call Number: BL31 E46 1987
Encyclopaedia of religion and ethics. 13 vols. Memorial Library
Reference Stacks / Call Number: BL31 E4 1955
Encyclopaedia Judaica. 16 vols. Memorial Library Reference Stacks
Room / Call Number: DS102.8 E496 Also on CD-ROM in Memorial Library Reference
CD-ROM area.
New Catholic Encyclopedia. 19 vols. Memorial Library Reference
Stacks / Call Number: BX841 N42
Catholic encyclopedia; an international work of reference on the constitution,
doctrine, discipline, and history of the Catholic church.[1907-12]
15 vols. Memorial Library Reference Stacks / Call Number: BX841 C25 .
Also available on the Internet at:
http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/
Encyclopedia of Islam. 10 vols. Memorial Library Reference Stacks
/ Call Number: DS 37 E5
SPECIAL
TOPICS
Ethics:
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. Memorial Library Reference Stacks
/ Call Number: BJ63 A66 1998
Encyclopedia of Values and Ethics. Memorial Library Reference
Stacks / Call Number: BJ63 H47 1996
The Enlightenment:
Wilson, Ellen Judy. Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment. Memorial
Library Reference Stacks / Call Number: B802 W48 1996
Encyclopédie, ou, Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et
des métiers par une sociéte de gens de lettres : mis en ordre & publié
par M. Diderot ; & quant à la partie mathématique, par M. d'Alembert.
Compact edition. 5 vols. Memorial Library Reference Stacks / Call Number:
AE25 E566 1985 1777 edition is available in Special Collections, 9th floor
of Memorial Library.
Marxism, Communism:
The Great Soviet Encyclopedia. 31 volumes. Memorial Library Reference
Wall Cases/ Call Number: AE5 B58
Marxism, Communism, and Western society; a comparative encyclopedia.
8 volumes. Memorial Library Reference Stacks / Call Number: AE5 M27
IMPORTANT JOURNALS:
COLLECTIONS
OF FULL-TEXT JOURNALS:
These are available via the: "Journal, Magazine, Newspaper Databases"
pick on the Library Website. The collections listed below are especially
useful for intellectual history because you can search the complete text
of articles in a variety of relevant journals, and read the entire article
online.
- PROJECT MUSE
Includes recent issues of: Journal of the History of Ideas, Eighteenth-Century
Studies, History&Memory, etc.
- JSTOR
Includes earlier years (usually more than 2-3 years old) of: Journal
of the History of Ideas, Eighteenth-Century Studies, Renaissance Quarterly,
Ethics, Philosophy and Public Affairs, Proceedings of the American
Political Science Association, Speculum etc.
JOURNAL DATA BASES (FINDING PERIODICAL ARTICLES):
These
are available via the: "Journal, Magazine, Newspaper Databases"
pick on the Library Website.
Includes a broad cross-section of scholarly journals useful for intellectual
history. In addition to the usual search methods such as keyword and author,
you can also search by *cited reference* (i.e. works listed in footnotes)
to find articles which are relevant to the work or person you are interested
in. If your subject involves politics or political theory use: Web of
Science: Social Sciences in addition to the Arts and Humanities section.
- ATLA RELIGION DATABASE // ABOUT
ATLA Religion Database is only available via campus library computers.
Focus is on theology and religion.
Citations constructed from tables of contents of journals from the 1800's
until the 1990's. Very useful for retrieving older information.
IMPORTANT: For the intellectual historian, there is still much useful
information in older journals which are not searchable by means of online
databases. Older, print indexes to periodicals can sometimes be helpful
in leading you to just the article you need. If you do not find what you
need in online journal databases, be sure to consult with reference librarians
for other possibilities
MADCAT TIPS:
TAKE
ADVANTAGE OF THE SUBJECT APPROACH. General keyword searching sometimes
is too broad for intellectual history topics.
Try the concept you are interested in as a Subject first, before
going on to try a keyword search. Many key concepts are established
as subject terms in library catalogs.
For example: Subject= Freedom of Speech
Subject = Freedom of Religion
Subject = Marxism
Subject = Dialectical Materialism
all retrieve useful results. If the subject approach does not work, then
try your concept in a KEYWORD search.
Take advantage of your need to know about PEOPLE. Library catalogs
are readily searchable under the names of individuals. Do a MADCAT search
by author or by subject for the person you are interested
in.
For example:
Author = Locke, John will bring up all the works by him.
If you don't find the one you need, look for "complete works"
or "collected works" under his name.
Subject = Locke, John will bring up everything about him
GOING FURTHER
Listed above are some of the most basic resources for the intellectual
historian. But there are many more. If you want to go further, you may
want to browse the shelves in the Reference area on the second floor of
Memorial Library,or the stacks in Memorial Library. Another approach is
to make use of some of the guides to reference resources, both general
and specialized, which point the way to additional materials.
GUIDES
TO REFERENCE RESOURCES:
- Guide to reference books / edited by Robert Balay. 1996. Memorial
Library Reference Desk / Call Number: Z1035.1 G89 1996
- Philosophy: a guide to the reference literature. 1997. Memorial
Library Reference Stacks / Call Number: B72 B9 1997
- Political science: a guide to reference and information sources.
1990. Memorial LIbrary Reference Stacks / Call Number: JA71 Y67 1990
- Religious information sources: a worldwide guide. 1992. Memorial
Library Reference Stacks / BL48 M38 1992
BROWSING
AREAS:
Here are some of the call numbers that are often useful for intellectual
history.
- Philosophy: B. BC, BD, BH, BJ
- Religion: BL, BM, BR, BX
- History: D through DJ (Countries of Europe)
- Social Sciences: HN (social history), HQ (family and women),
HX (Socialism, Communism, Anarchism), JC (political theory)
Compiled for History 600: Fall, 2000
Staff | Libraries
| Subject Guides | Electronic
Resources
Class Materials | Departments
and Programs
European History: A Guide to Resources
This Site Created by Barbara Walden and Maintained by Lisa Wettleson
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Libraries
© 2001, The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System
Last Update:01.24.01
|