logo ULC Annual Report 1994-95



The University Library Committee (ULC) has 19 members: 8 elected faculty, two from each division, with four-year terms; 2 appointed academic staff, with four-year terms; 2 elected library staff, with two-year terms; the Director of the General Library System (GLS); an elected representative of the Library Coordinating Council (LCC); 2 appointed representatives from the Office of Budget, Planning, and Analysis and the Office of the Provost; and 3 students appointed by Associated Students of Madison. The 8 faculty, 2 academic staff, and 3 students have voting privileges (see Faculty Policies and Procedures 6.46 A). A list of the members for the two academic years spanned by this report appears below.

Members, March 1994-February 1995


Richard Askey
Robert Auerbach
Mark Beissinger
Lewis Leavitt
Louis J. Maher, Jr. (representative to University Archives Committee)
Robert March
R. Timothy Mulcahy
William Thiesenhusen
Darlene Weingand
David Woodward (Chair, Sem. I)
Margarita Zamora (Chair, Sem. II)

Academic Staff:

David McJunkin
Elizabeth Steinberg (representative to Memorial Library Committee)


Renee Gimski
Kathryn Stuebner
David Wilcox
Eileen Willingham


Phillip Braithwaite
Betsy Draine


Ken Frazier
Kerry Kresse
Abbie Loomis
Tom Murray
R. David Myers
Ed Van Gemert

1994-1995 Meetings, Tuesdays, 3:30-5:30

September 13 329 Wendt Library
October 11 Robinson Map Library, 310 Science Hall
November 8 2191G College Library
December 13 362 Memorial Library
February 14 2191G College Library
March 7 362 Memorial Library
April 11 240 Steenbock Library
May 9 362 Memorial Library

Standing Subcommittee Reports (with chairs):

Automation (March)
February 14 and May 9
Budget (Thiesenhusen)
October 11 and April 11
Campus Libraries (Maher)
December 13 and May 9
Intellectual Property (Zamora)
December 13 and March 7
Library Services and User Education (Mulcahy)
April 11
Serials and Collections (Beissinger)
November 8 and March 7


The ULC wishes to thank Ken Frazier and the many library staff who have helped us progress in our understanding of the challenges facing UW- Madison libraries. The members of the LCC, GLS administration, and the leaders of the SCLG, have cooperated with us and actively participated in our discussions. The DoIT, under the direction of Mark Luker, has been working with us in our efforts to understand library automation.

Go to: Previous page in report 1994-95 Report Index
Next page in report ULC home page

Electronic Library
Campus Libraries

Last modified July 7, 1998

University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries
Office of External Relations
Comments or questions to: Deborah Reilly , Coordinator